- Only Admins have access to the Company Settings.
A customized approval process controls who is allowed to book what. This makes it easy to manage employee travel activities and costs.
Approval processes are broken down into three levels:
- Company level: The default settings for all employees
- Group level: An approval process for a specific group of employees
- User level: An approval process for a specific employee
By default, a company will have no approval process. This means that employees can book trips freely with no approval process in place.
There are three different control measures that can be set for each of the three levels. They are:
- No approval needed
- Approval needed for out-of-policy bookings only
- Approval needed for every booking
You'll need to select one or more approvers for each group or user. Approvers are the people who will have the authority to approve or decline a requested booking.
If no approver is assigned, approval requests will be sent to the company administrators
The approval settings are hierarchical, meaning:
- The approval process defined for an individual user will overrule other approval processes
- If no approval process is defined for the individual user, the approval process defined for the group they belong to will be applied
- If no approval process is defined for their group, the company approval process will be applied
- If no approval process is defined for the company, the user can book trips without approval
Good to know: If a booker is a member of multiple groups, we will always use the least restrictive group
Create an Approval Setting
To set up an approval process, follow these steps:
- Go to Company Settings, then Approval Settings
- If you haven't created an approval setting, click Add approval setting
- Select the level these settings should apply to: it could be the entire company, a group, or a single person
- Select the control measures that apply to the company, group or user
- (Optional) Nominate the approver(s) for a specific company, group, or person (if no approver is added, the company administrators will be the approvers)
- Save your approval settings
Good to know: It is always safe to delete or update your approval settings. When you delete an approval setting, existing trips and submissions for approval will not be affected. The original approvers will still be able to approve all pending trip requests.